Skip to main content
The most central accommodation provider in the heart of Airlie Beach, Whitsundays
chance-shower-fine 26°C
Guest Reviews

Guest Reviews

expedia
3 days ago
Nikki
Would definitely stay again

I really enjoyed this hostel for the location, and the staff were super friendly. I was able to leave my luggage while I went off to the islands which was helpful and I generally felt safe there too. The layout is pretty unique for a hostel and the added extras like having a fridge in the room was amazing. I would for sure stay here again whenever I’m back in Airlie.

bookingcom
9 days ago
Stijn
Very good value for money

Simple, but clean and with all the facilities you could wish for within easy reach. Also very centrally located and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

google
1 month ago
Diana
Amazing

This is one of the most amazing hostels/budget hotels I have ever stayed in! Although the rooms are a bit outdated - the place is super beautiful, surrounded by jungle - and in the heart of Airlie Beach. Staff is always super friendly - and the pub is the heart of the party in town - without being noisy to guests - which is quite unique. Really loved it here - can highly recommend it!

airbnb
1 month ago
Ashton
5 stars

Great location, right in the centre of town, however completely tucked away, private, quiet, and secure. Highly recommend for someone who wants to be able to walk out your front door and be right in the heart of Airlie but also wants accommodation that is private and quiet.

tripadvisor
1 month ago
Michelle
10/10 Accommodation in Airlie

We stayed in one of their private bedrooms and were really pleased with the well-equipped room (small fridge, fan & air-con) and location of the accommodation. The staff was really helpful and we specifically appreciate Jules from the Reception team for the warm welcome. 

hostelworld
1 month ago
Craig
Love

Absolutely loved this place. Stopped off for a double room and wished I stayed for longer! 10/10

agoda
1 month ago
Kylie
Great Spot!

Loved this location set in a rainforest-like setting in the heart of town. Convenient to everything. Definitely would stay here again!

tripadvisor
1 month ago
Anthony
Magnums is awesome

Magnums is totally awesome in every way. The staff: Jules, Maria, Rachael and Nicole are amazing. Nothing's ever too hard, these girls have always been accommodating and made my stay perfect. I have booked all my trips with them and still do after 20 years. Rooms are amazing and you're located in the main street across from the beach. Call any of the girls they'd love to help! Highly recommended *****

google
1 month ago
Christian
Wonderful experience

After the wonderful experiences we had at Magnums last year, we travelled to Airlie Beach again this year on our big trip to Australia and stayed at Magnums again for two weeks. Our wish to get the same cabin again was fulfilled. We were very happy here again, went swimming in the lagoon and the sea and read on the terrace of our hut when it rained. Of course, our “friend” Maria at the Reception gave us again great advice for a trip to Whitehaven Beach and also gave us other valuable advice. But, the entire Reception staff has to be mentioned and complimented for their friendliness and helpfulness. The cleaning staff is always very friendly and can only be praised for their good work. As soon as we leave, we will be longing to stay at Magnums again.

expedia
2 months ago
William
Brilliant stay in Airlie Beach

We had two brilliant stays separated by a 3 day tour. The staff couldn’t be more helpful and the place is amazing, like being in a rainforest. Can’t recommend highly enough. Great location.

agoda
3 months ago
Gabrielle
Fantastic place and value

The room for two was perfect for me and my friend, it was pretty clean, the fridge, air con and fan were working very well. One bathroom and shower for each 3 rooms was enough and easy to access from the room. They offer free storage to leave the bags if you need it while enjoy your day.

bookingcom
3 months ago
Rachel
Great place to stay!

The Location was excellent right in the centre area. Friendly helpful staff. I booked a private chalet type room - and it was absolutely fabulous - roomy, excellent facilities, exceptionally clean and quiet. The key drop box was handy as I checked out early in the morning. Negative: Nothing - it was all great.

tripadvisor
3 months ago
809becf
Fantastic staff, great place to be

Fantastic location and clean amenities. Special shout out to the amazing staff Sophie, Rachael, Jules and Di….These guys did everything to make our time at Magnums enjoyable. What a fantastic crew. :)

expedia
4 months ago
Lee
Had a great time here!

Had a great time here! Stayed just one night, arrived after hours, so phoned ahead to let Reception know. They advised they would pop a key in a safe box for us and text us the pin number, which they did. Super smooth check in. The room was fine, and the overall layout and feel of the place was great! Excellent location, right across the street from the lagoon. The friendly Reception staff were happy to mind our bags for a few hours after we checked out. Highly recommend this place 😊

bookingcom
5 months ago
Madison
The location!

The location of this hotel was great! It’s very close to the beach, shops, bars, and restaurants. Even though the downtown area can be a bit noisy I couldn’t really hear it from my room. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the facilities were very clean too.

agoda
5 months ago
Nicholas
Amazing stay

The facilities and our room were clean and nice. It is a cool tropical vibe to stay there in the forest. Everything is close by!

hostelworld
5 months ago
Hostelworld guest
Really convenient location

Really convenient location, right in the middle of everything. Love the rainforest vibes - had a private double with shared bathroom and although bathroom is all open, didn’t have any issues with cleanliness or bugs etc. Kitchen was always clean and plenty of space for cooking, not crowded. Staff were really friendly and helpful with booking trips, one of the reception staff remembered us and our plans personally a couple of days after check in which was nice. Would recommend & return.

google
5 months ago
Ash
Can't fault the place

Stayed for 3 nights for my birthday in Airlie beach and really enjoyed it. The place is so well run, clean, generous sized queen cabins, fully equipped kitchens with plenty of space. The adults-only element is perfect as it stops the screaming kids, and associated chaos 😂 The location is excellent, right in the centre of everything! The layout of the resort is genius because we never heard a single sound after 10pm from our cabin. There is a lively atmosphere out front with music and themed nights. Can't fault the place....I wish I had the money to stay a month, haha!!

google
6 months ago
Jennifer
Probably the best hostel on the East Coast!

This hostel was a pleasure to stay at. It was so clean, comfortable, there was plenty of plug sockets in the best places! The showers were good water pressure, good heat, and well designed so you can put your things and they stay dry!! The kitchens were so cleans and the only ones to have air fryers on the whole East Coast we came across! Would highly, highly recommend this hostel. The rooms and area was quiet and good WiFi.

bookingcom
6 months ago
Charlotte
Perfect place to stay!

I stayed in a Queen cabin suite which was lovely. The trees and plants outside gave it a wilderness feel and the room was decorated nicely, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. I had two washing lines outside my room, the parking was easy to get to and close to my room and the laundry and kitchen facilities were easy to use. Honestly this place has everything you need. Central to everything and just a short walk to the lagoon, the beach, the shops, restaurants and bars. This place was perfect for a female solo traveller because there was enough going on at the attached bar to meet new people but it was still quiet at night as my room was set back.

tripadvisor
6 months ago
mdinti685120
Hidden oasis in the centre of town

A real surprise when we arrived as it was in very busy street & hotel but a little hidden oasis that provided relaxation & privacy yet convenience to walk to everything including shops, lagoon & Port of Airlie.

google
6 months ago
Suzi
So clean and quiet!

So clean and quiet yet in the middle of everything. Can’t fault this accommodation! 

magnums
6 months ago
Courteney
Best hostel

Best hostel my friend and I have ever stayed in. So clean/comfy and all the staff are so cheerful and happy to chat :) Exceptional service by all Reception staff, especially Maria! 

agoda
6 months ago
Killian
Wonderful!

Amazing location! The hostel is drown in nature, which feels so relaxing. Once you get out, you're right in the center of Airlie Beach. It was comfy, clean and the kitchen had everything you need.

airbnb
6 months ago
Bronwyn
Lovely!

Lovely little hut that still had room to move and our own veranda to relax on! Great location, central to shops, restaurants and bars. Pretty quiet as at the back of complex which was fantastic for us. Thanks so much!

bookingcom
7 months ago
Chelsea
Amazing! Will stay again!

Kitchen was spotless. Rooms were basic, but had everything needed Toilets were clean. No noise at night which was great! Black out blinds in rooms. It was all great!

google
7 months ago
Hector
100% Recommend

I came here because it had been recommended to me and I was right to choose it. Very clean, a very well equipped kitchen and a very pleasant atmosphere. I would choose it again if I had to repeat. The rooms are comfortable and very well equipped for its size.

google
7 months ago
Hermes
Absolutely amazing place!

Super functional, great location, staff was friendly. Kitchen was super useful. A Woolies is like 10 steps away and you are a block away from the ocean and 3 min walk to the Lagoon which is an awesome public pool. Recommended!

tripadvisor
8 months ago
robsaunders2023
Resort style accommodation in the middle of Airlie Beach

What a fantastic place to stay! It's so quiet that you wouldn't know that you were in the centre of town & just one block from the beach. Woolworths, BWS, cafes, restaurants, etc right next door. P.S. Highly recommend KC's for food & music!

google
8 months ago
Seoyeon Joy
Nice and cosy!

We stayed here for 3 nights, which was amazing. I was a bit worried that it would be loud at night since a bar was nearby, but it was really quiet. Rooms are small but not too much. It gives a nice cosy vibe and was in a natural environment. Kitchen was really clean and has pretty much all utensils. Toilets and showers were clean and we didn’t have any comflict with other people using those facilities. Has an ac and a fan, which were working well. I was sad that I needed to leave here ;(

bookingcom
8 months ago
Petra
What a fantastic place!

Super central and nevertheless in a quiet and green oasis (at least if you are staying in the private cabins). Loved sitting on the terrace in front of my cabin. Special thanks and shout-out to Jules at the reception: so knowledgeable! Really great recommendations for tours!

expedia
8 months ago
Graham
Self-contained cabin for the win!

Centrally placed. Parking easy and convenient particularly for cabin 67. All required facilities present and functional. I cannot think of a better place to stay next visit.

tripadvisor
8 months ago
robertdS350VJ
A paradise in Airlie Beach

A wonderful place to stay. Very happy and helpful staff make what seemed to be an unpretentious place in to a paradise. 10 out of 10 for service and helpful actions. Would recommended to everyone if coming to Airlie Beach.

airbnb
8 months ago
Craig
5 Star

A great cabin and perfectly located at the back of the resort so was very quiet. Absolutely in the centre of Airlie Beach. Highly recommended. I will be back.

google
9 months ago
Annabelle
Honestly, a great hostel!

First of all, I would like to highlight the exceptional work done by the hotel's housekeeping team. Everything is very clean. The toilets are cleaned regularly and the kitchen is one of the cleanest I've had in any hostel I've been to in Australia. The hotel is quiet and the setting is pleasant in a forest that is quite relaxing. The staff is very professional and serious. Good value and great location in Airlie!

expedia
9 months ago
Emily
10/10

One of the nicest hostels I have been to! We got a private room and although it was small it was exactly what we needed! There were cutlery and plates and bowls in our room if we needed and there was even a mini fridge! They even provided towels. The bathrooms were really nice, and the kitchen was in great condition and very clean! The property as a whole was great and it was in minutes walk of the beach and lagoon and about a one minute walk to Woolworths! Really pleasant stay and I would definitely come back again.

google
9 months ago
Denisha
Welcoming staff!

The staff at Magnums are super welcoming and friendly and super helpful. It’s a very budget friendly venue and couldn’t recommend it enough!

google
10 months ago
Eve Gabriella
We will be back!

Big shoutout to Maria, Dianne, and Shannan who made our experience booking the accommodation, finding our way around Airlie, and booking tours seamless, easy, stress free, and cost effective! Thanks to everyone at Magnums for the amazing stay. Walking into this accommodation we were surprised by how large it was and by the amazing amenities available to us to use. The hostel is like an amazing jungle escape and the grounds are so well cared for. We really felt like we got the full tropical experience in large part thanks to the amazing atmosphere created by the Magnums hostel. We will be back!

tripadvisor
10 months ago
Nathan L
So EASY, big thumbs up!

Was fantastic, way better than we expected.... Lagoon across the road, supermarket next door and free parking. Jules got us an awesome sailing trip at short notice on Tongarra. We booked direct, our flight was late and they arranged a late check in which worked well. 

tripadvisor
10 months ago
Rosie
The perfect stay

The best place I have ever stayed for the PERFECT price. I can’t wait to go here every year! In the centre of town so it’s easy to go anywhere and everywhere. The staff were also literally the most amazing people I have ever met!

tripadvisor
11 months ago
Maus
Rainforest retreat right in the heart of Airlie

Great place! Great location! It's like staying in a rainforest but is close to attractions, restaurants, and shopping! We stayed in a private cabin, which was clean, spacious, had a private bathroom and everything we needed. Magnums even supplied ear plugs which was a nice touch, but we didn't need them. The vibe and atmosphere is fantastic. If you want to be social you can drink at the bar or play pool, or you can chill in the room and listen to the birds. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended!

bookingcom
11 months ago
Ella
Would recommend!

Such a beautiful place to stay, being amongst the trees/nature felt like we were staying in the jungle. Kitchen was clean and had everything you needed. Loads of outdoor seating areas with fairy lights everywhere. The bar connected was always buzzing with live music and lots of people.

hostelworld
12 months ago
Danny
Fantastic property!

Fantastic property, more of a resort rather than a hostel. I stayed in a cheap private room to chill after coming back from a Whitsunday trip and this was ideal. There is a cool rainforest vibe to the place and it's got everything you need. 

bookingcom
12 months ago
Sara
Fun tropical experience!

This accommodation is great! It’s designed as a tropical resort with multiple cabins throughout the property. Rooms and bathrooms are clean (bathrooms surprisingly clean since they are open to the outdoors!), the kitchen is well stocked and the location is perfect. It is attached to the Magnums bar with outdoor seating area and nightly live music, which was very fun! And despite the proximity to the bar, noise cannot be heard from the rooms. Highly recommend for young travellers, solo backpackers, couples or friends:)

bookingcom
1 year ago
Booking.com user
Would definitely recommend to anyone!

The room was super comfortable and came with great amenities such as a mini fridge, plates cutlery etc. The bathrooms felt clean and were easy to get to for everyone, regardless of where you were staying as they were on each floor. Wi-Fi was really and staff were super helpful. Kitchen was very clean and in nice condition and there was also an outside BBQ area which was fun to use. There wasn’t anything we didn’t like about the property.

agoda
1 year ago
Clara
A cabin in the jungle yet also in the heart of Airlie Beach

This place is beautiful!! The rooms were so comfy, a lot of space and had all the amenities we needed. Opening our bedroom door to this beautiful jungle every morning <3

QTAB accredited business
The Whitsundays Queensland
COVID Clean
Eco Certified
Australian Tourism Awards 2023 Bronze 3-3.5 Star Accommodation
2023 Queensland Tourism Awards Gold Winner 3-3.5 Star Accommodation
The Whitsundays Tourism Awards 2023 Gold Winner 3-3.5 Star Accommodation
The Whitsundays Tourism Awards 2023 Winner Whitsundays Business of the Year
The Whitsundays Tourism Awards 2023 Winner Award for Most Outstanding Whitsundays Booking Service
Galta
Travellers Choice
Best of Queensland 2023
Healthy Heart
Location

370 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach,
Whitsundays QLD 4802 Australia

Marker View on map

Magnums Unique Accommodation acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the Land on which we work and live, and recognise their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to them and their cultures, and to Elders past, present and emerging.

Return To Top